Skip to content

The Earth of Emotions

November 2, 2010

“….and a rock feels no pain…..and an island never cries”

I love you Paul Simon, but I am not a rock and I am not an island, not in the context that you suggest anyway.  There are fleeting moments when I am able to shut off the feelings of life but they are fleeting moments.  Generally, the squelching of pain and sorrow only comes through anger.  Depression is anger internalized.  It is a vicious circle of pain, resentment, anger, pain.  More like the whirlpool just off the coast.

If I were a rock, my emotions would be steady.  But I would still have emotions.  Rocks get built and worn by emotion, the trials of nature.  Islands rise and fall into oceans of turbulence.  There is no stillness.  There is no silence.

Heartache is real.  You can not hide from it.  It will find you in one fashion or another.

From → Ramblings

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment